Categorized | News

Collierville dance teams shine at national competition in Orlando

Collierville High School and Collierville Middle School’s dance teams recently attended Universal Dance Association’s 2018 National Dance Team Championship hosted Feb. 3 and 4 in Orlando, Fla., where they took home high honors for their pom and hip-hop routines.

The CMS team was crowned the national junior high champ in both the hip-hop and pom divisions and also took home the title in the World School Championship in the junior high pom division. The CHS squad competed in the large varsity division and placed second in pom and second in hip-hop, competing against dozens of schools from across the country.

“Our teams took every ounce of energy, every bit of passion and every second of practice and combined them in a beautiful fashion to get to this point at competition, and they just shined,” said Terrance Moore, a CHS team teacher sponsor. “In the past five years, I’ve watched them grow from a team that couldn’t wait to see other teams to a team other teams couldn’t wait to see. The dancers, under Carol’s amazing leadership, have made this program into one of the absolute finest – if not THE finest – in the nation.”

Industry veteran Carol Lloyd coaches both teams. The other CHS teacher sponsor is Ashley McCullar. Members of the 2017-18 CHS team are Abby Smither, Alex Sherman, Ann-Elise Sumner, Annie DiMento, Ashleigh Enriquez, Brae Michelotti, Carleigh Schaefer, Conner Johnson, Ellie VanDyke, Ellye Caviness, Emily Duke, Emily Marszalek, Emily Winsett, Emma Warmus, Hannah Proctor, Jeri Raines, Jevenee Jerdon, Julianne Murphy, Kaitlyn Brown, Laila Travillion, Lexi Sligh, Mariana Mcalvin, Paige Boyce, Rachael Rivera, Rebecca Manseau, Sage Harris, Savannah Liebenrood, Sophia Douglas, Stella Winter, Taylor Mercer and Victoria Smith.

Jo Powers and Misty Benson are teacher sponsors for the CMS team. Team members are Ana Bibiano, Anna Gagliano, Anna Haynes, Anna Claire McMinn, Ashley Duke, Calin Compton, Cara Rees, Carly Burleson, Caroline Gagliano, Caroline Vickers, Emery Harris, Emma Proctor, Faith Dering, Hailey Harris, Haley Lucenti, Hannah Harris, Hylan Kellum, Joy Latimer, Katie Duke, Kayleigh Smith, Leah Francis, Madaline Bradford, Morgan Shea, Olivia Collier, Riley Lacy, Ryleigh Rees, Sarah Seely, Tatum Parsons and Zoe Passman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *