Categorized | News

Lady Saints earn No. 1 seed for sub-state tourney


It was a historic night and a perfect birthday gift for Coach Alexis Boyd Heinz as Briarcrest clinched the West Division Region title in consecutive years for the first time in school history with an 11-0 victory over the Hutchison Sting on Oct. 14.
The Lady Saints were highly motivated after a 3-3 tie against the Sting in the first meeting of the two teams at Hutchison in September. Since that game, Briarcrest has gone on a tear going 9-1 with its only blemish a 2-0 loss to No. 1 State ranked Houston. During that stretch, the Lady Saints have scored 55 goals and allowed only six.
Nine different players scored for Briarcrest against Hutchison. It was a four-minute stretch in the first half that decided the game.
Junior Abby Lollar broke the game open after 30 minutes with a blast from the right corner that managed to get past both a Sting defender and the goalkeeper. It was Lollar’s first varsity goal. She was followed in quick succession by two goals from senior Brittany Hatmaker and one from freshman Julia Perrusquia to make it 4-0 at half.
The Lady Saints left no doubt in the second half adding seven goals- two by senior Alyssa Neuberger and one each by junior Kaitlin Echols (her first varsity goal), senior Heinz Grant, senior Allison Samisch, junior Addie McDaniel and junior Taegan Allen. The defense with Echols and sophomores Ashton Pugh, Peyton Moore, Kaley Smithmier, Sarina Diebenow and senior Holland Heinz did a masterful job of limiting the Sting’s chances against junior goalkeeper Marianne Agee. It was the 9thshutout of the season- a new record in the Heinz era.
With the win, Briarcrest improves to 14-2-1 and 4-0-1 in the West Region, but more importantly clinch the No. 1 seed in the West for the upcoming state playoffs. The last regular season game was last Thursday as the Lady Saints beat St. Agnes 8-3.
The following players scored goals in the Hutchison game: 1) Abby Lollar (unassisted), 2) Brittany Hatmaker (from Julia Perrusquia), 3) Brittany Hatmaker (from Alyssa Neuberger), 4) Julia Perrusquia (from Alyssa Neuberger), 5) Alyssa Neuberger (from Abby Lollar), 6) Alyssa Neuberger (unassisted), 7) Kaitlin Echols (unassisted), 8) Heinz Grant (from Allison Samisch), 9) Allison Samisch (from Lauren Cummings), 10) Addie McDaniel (from Lauren Cummings), 11) Taegan Allen (unassisted).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *