Categorized | Education

Schilling Farms takes home national honors

The 2014 National High School Cheerleading Junior Championship Non-Tumbling division was won by Schilling Farms Middle School Sunday in Orlando at the ESPN Wild World Of Sports at Disney World.

The Schilling Farms perfect performance, along with the level of difficulty and the strength of Auggie Burke and Cole Johnson, made a spectacular show. Collierville Middle School placed second and Elmore Park Middle School placed fourth. There were teams competing from across the nation and could not break into the mid south’s domination in Cheer.

The Schilling Farms Middle School dance team under the direction of Coach Jenn Taylor attended Universal Dance Association’s 2014 National Dance Team Championship on Feb. 1-2 in Orlando, where they took home the second-place trophy in hip-hop and second place for their pom routine.

The NDTC is the only national-level dance team championship that is endorsed by the National Federation of State High School Associations, the national service and administrative organization for high school athletics and fine arts programs in speech, debate, theater and music. Dance teams compete in divisions based on team size and grade/age level and have the option to enter two of the following categories: jazz, hip hop, pom and high kick. Each year, there are an estimated 10,000 spectators in attendance.

“Our team worked so hard all year long, and the results of their tireless efforts and dedication were center stage at the competition,” said Katie Kerekes, the team’s teacher sponsor. “It was such an exciting moment for us – one we’ll never forget.”

The SFMS team attended this year’s competitiSFMS at Nationals Captainson as the reigning national hip-hop champ, an honor they earned at UDA’s 2013 National Dance Team Championship. To view the SFMS squad in action at nationals, please visit Enter “Schilling Farms” in the search box above the video box, and then jump to Schilling’s performances (hip hop and pom) by clicking on the sidebar menu on the right of the video screen.

Members of the 2013-14 SFMS dance team are Cassidy Williams (captain), Amelia McGowan (captain), Savannah Liebenrood (captain), Brooke Baigrie, Kennedy Cates, Mirielle Erpelding, Annie DiMento, Carlie Graham, Lauren Hurley, Amanda Jack, Taylor James, Jada Jenkins, Jevenee Jerdon, Grace Lanier, Miranda Salgado, Abby Smither, Laila Travillion, Emma Warmus, Natasha Whitt and Cayla Woodard.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *